Desperate Times

I am going to do something desperate (no, I am not going to kidnap Pepito, or any other adorable child): I am going on a diet.

I am trying the South Beach/Adkins low-carb diet for two weeks. (I know, I know: the trendy diet alert has been sounded.) I have never actually been on a diet, but I figure I can give it two weeks, right? This is still my month “off” (as in I am not trying to get pregnant) while I let the thyroid medicine kick in, so why not? I like any diet that still lets you eat olives and fresh mozzarella cheese.

I am determined not to have to buy new clothes for the fall. I will lose weight by the start of classes at the end of August. It is equal parts vanity and penuriousness, but this extra weight has got to go and exercise alone is just not doing it.

We are having salad and pesto salmon for dinner. Mmmm.

What is a reasonable weight-loss goal for 4 weeks? I want to lose between 40 and 50 lbs, but I don’t know what a healthy weight-loss rate is. Any input?

July 27, 2007. South Beached Whale, Trying Again.

9 Comments

  1. DD replied:

    The weight loss rate does depend on your current weight. 40-50 lbs sounds like a lot unless you weigh 300+ lbs, which I’m sure you aren’t. Are you excercising, too?

    That is key to not necessarily losing the weight but keeping it off. I’m not going to be able to answer what you should expect in 4 weeks, but I would think that if you follow an excercise regimen and eat right EVERY DAY, you could safely set a goal to lose 10-13 lbs.

  2. missedconceptions replied:

    DD,

    Thanks for the response! I am currently at 200 lbs (I am tall so that is not as bad as it sounds). I want to be around 150-160, but I know I will not get there all at once.

    In order to fit into my clothes, I need to be a size 12-14 and I am currently an 18, which is neither flattering nor healthy.

    MC

  3. niobe replied:

    You’re hypothyroid, right? Just getting your thyroid back to a normal level will really help you lose weight.
    It should also give you more energy for exercise.

  4. missedconceptions replied:

    Niobe, Yes, I am indeed hypothyroid. I have been on the medicine two weeks now and today is the first day I feel a little more like my old self. I guess it can take up to six weeks to fully start working. MC

  5. kona replied:

    Good luck Liz! You can do it. 😉 1-3 pounds a week is considered reasonable. The slower you lose, and the more you change your “lifestyle” the better it is (versus a fad quick loss). As you may know, I did Weight Watchers this year and lost 15 pounds.I plan to go back to it later when I need to. The biggest help was adding in exercise. I also liked the support group aspect of WW. But I think any sensible diet plan or exercise plan will work if you feel you can stick to it. I liked WW also because I could eat whatever I want if I stayed within my points range…they let you bank points over the week for special occasions (just mentioning it in case SB doesn’t work for you). But some people do great with SB. 😉 Good luck again!

  6. missingone replied:

    There’s actually a low carb diet out there called “The Thyroid Diet” –might want to try?
    South Beach as worked consistently for me. The first week is hard, but once you get past that, you can do anything!
    It gets easier because those nasty cravings go away so you can change you lifestyle of eating.
    Good Luck!!

  7. katie replied:

    I lost 2 1/2 stone (erm, 35lb??) at a rate of 1/2lb per week. I have kept 2 stone of it off – put on 10lb with the last pregnancy and miscarriage but I think I’ve lost 3lb in the last few weeks.

    Highly recommend gradual loss.

  8. missingone replied:

    oh, i forgot to mention, with SB I lost 8 lbs in the first two weeks and then continued to lose 2 lbs per week in phase 2. I got within 5 lbs of my goal and then became pregnant

    second time around I lost about 5 lbs in phase 1 and am still losing 1.5 per week since June in Phase 2 I am within 10 lbs of my pre preggo weight

    Good luck in your endeavor! You can do it!!

  9. Tamra replied:

    Someone just forwarded me your blog….I haven’t read all the way through it but GOOD LUCK TTC! As for weight loss I would not try to lose more than 1-3 lbs per week…….and it can vary….one week nothing and then more the next because of water weight etc. My sister was about your size and she lost a lot of weight by working out 3-5x a week and cutting out sweets and eating as many salads, fresh veggies etc as possible. Sugar is something to avoid as well. I’ve never done SB but I am pretty sure it’s along those lines?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

