South Beached Whale

I have been on the South Beach diet for 2.5 weeks and have lost a whopping 6lbs. I think this is good, but when you start out at such a high number, 6lbs. seems like nothing. Oh, and my husband managed to lose twice that amount in the same 2.5 weeks.

I only cheated during the first two weeks by accident: I didn’t realize raisins were a no-no until the book arrived in the mail and I thought tapioca (in my sugar-free bubble tea) was a vegetable. (Guess what? Tapioca is a starch.) Aside from those two incidents, I have been really, really good.

I know that men tend to lose weight faster (no estrogen) and that I am still contending with a hypothyroid, but I still wish the weight just melted away. I wish I were 12lbs. lighter, too. Between the steroids for colitis and the hypothyroid, my metabolism is sluggish. My thyroid book recommends weight-training, which I actually enjoy, to help kick-start your metabolism. I will go tonight to the gym.

I am now onto Phase II of South Beach where you start to add back “good” carbohydrates. This is good because it gives you more culinary options but bad because it slows down the weight loss. Yesterday morning I made oatmeal, which is allowed, but only if it is not instant. (It took 30-minutes to cook my “Irish porridge” and while stirring it I pretended I was a super-fertile Irish house-wife and this was a nourishing meal for my enormous family.) It was delicious with skim-milk and sugar-free syrup.

I don’t feel all that big but when I see pictures of myself, I think I look like a beached whale — a South Beached whale. I also do not want to buy any more clothes, so I am hoping the weight continues to come off.

Unless I get pregnant, of course.

August 14, 2007. South Beached Whale, Trying Again, Waiting Around is Not For Sissies.

5 Comments

  1. babystep replied:

    6 pounds in 2.5 weeks is a really good, stable, and safe rate. You are much more likely to keep it off. You could always try the Master Cleanse lemonade/maple syrup diet. Supposedly Beyonce lost 20 pounds in 10 days. http://therawfoodsite.com/mastercleanse.htm
    Just joking. PLEASE don’t do it.

  2. missingone replied:

    6 pounds is good! Hang in there.
    What I did because I didn’t like the weight loss I was getting on Phase II, I went back and stayed on Phase I a bit longer.
    They say you can do this, but not recommended because you might get bored and throw the whole diet down the tube.
    Support boards help as well. This site helped me too:
    http://www.southbeach-diet-plan.com/
    I also gave up my caffeine and did at least 20 min of cardio (low impact) a day and that helped to speed things up a little.
    This diet really works, promise.

  3. Artblog replied:

    That is good! You must remember to allow a treat once a week or one naughtish meal. it helps keep the momentum up. Good job πŸ™‚ XXX

  4. Ashley Bass replied:

    Congrats on the weight loss! Keep it up! I need to go on a diet… :\

  5. Ms. Planner replied:

    I think 6 pounds in 2-1/2 weeks is very commendable (& healthy). Good luck with reaching all of your goals πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

