How To Take Your Mind Off of Procreating

The trick to completely forget about miscarriage/pregnancy/infertility is to have your spouse develop a potentially life-threatening medical condition like, to pick a completely random example, a collapsed right lung.

Mr. MC went to our local urgent care thinking he had asthma, or at the very worst, pneumonia. He had a pneumothorax. They have reinflated it via a chest tube, but it continues to leak. If it has not completely healed by Friday, he will have surgery to manually repair it.

He has been an inpatient since about 3AM on Tuesday.

It is really awful to watch someone that you love suffer.

September 12, 2007. Other Sucky Things.

14 Comments

  1. Mary replied:

    I’m thinking of, and praying for both of you! šŸ™‚

  2. Kath replied:

    Oh no, MC, I’m so sorry! I hope he feels better very, very soon — and you too.

  3. DD replied:

    Holy crap! I’m really hoping for his quick recovery and that surgery isn’t called for. Have the physicians any idea why this happened?

  4. babystep replied:

    WTF! As if you don’t have enough to deal with…I hope that Mr. MC feels better soon and can heal without surgery. How does one get a collapsed lung?

  5. kona replied:

    Wow.I’m sure that was unexpected. Sending healing wishes to Mr. MC.

  6. Rachel replied:

    I am so sorry, like you needed anything else to worry about. I really hope that your husband heals quickly and that you are able to be there for him. I also hope you have some friends nearby to lean on during this difficult time.

  7. Calliope replied:

    how scary! So hope that things heal swiftly and completely.
    Thank goodness it was caught!

  8. Rachel replied:

    Hope it heals up nicely. Thinking of you both.
    (a different Rachel)

  9. Red replied:

    Sending lots of healing thoughts Mr. MC’s way.

  10. Ms. Planner replied:

    Oh my gosh, how did it happen to him? I feel so bad for your honey and wish him a speedy recovery. You? I’m wishing you some strength so you can be 100% there for him in spite of everything else you are dealing with. Hang in there, sister.

  11. niobe replied:

    How absolutely terrifying. I hope that Mr. MC heals quickly and that you have (or are able to get) some answers as to why this happened.

    Thinking of you both and wishing there was something more I could do to help.

  12. My Reality replied:

    I hope he is feelign better soon. How scary.

  13. Maria replied:

    Oh my gosh – that is awful. I’m wishing a quick recovery for your Mr. MC. I hope he get’s well soon.

  14. Anns replied:

    Oh no, my father had that a few years back… it’s a very hard thing to deal with. Does he have to have surgery? You’re lucky they caught it in time. My father collapsed outside of a court and was rushed to the emergency room, half alive. We thought he was gone for sure.

    Keeping you in my thoughts.

    Anns xo

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

