Open Wound; Cue Salt Pour

I have been playing phone tag with my allergist’s office for days. I have not been in to their office since this time last year, when I was a few weeks pregnant with pregnancy #1. I finally spoke with them today to find out why they are not refilling my vial of immunotherapy drops. Apparently, it is because they want me to redo all of my skin testing.

Me: “Why do you need to redo all of my skin testing?

Office Lady: “Well, we just want to make sure that what is being put in your allergy vial is still what you are allergic to.”

Me: “Why would it have changed?”

Office Lady: “After the baby is born, sometimes the mother’s allergies change — new things can pop up and other things can disappear? Pregnancy is a very powerful thing!!”

Me: “So I hear. Don’t worry, I had a miscarriage. And then another one a few months later. I am quite sure I was not far along enough either time to change anything.”

Office Lady: “Oh, er, uh, oh, ummmmm, I am so sorry. (Dramatic pause; quite sure I am able to hear a pin drop in background.) Ummmm, can you stop by tomorrow to pick everything up and just meet quickly with the nurse practitioner? We obviously need to update your records.”

Obviously.

October 4, 2007. Miscarriage #1.

6 Comments

  1. My Reality replied:

    Ouch.

    I am sorry for the reminder that things didn’t work out. I hope at least they can help your allergies.

  2. niobe replied:

    Sometimes I’m paranoid enough to almost believe they “forget” on purpose.

  3. babystep replied:

    Sorry about the cold water bath. Sometimes you just get blind-sided, huh? Maybe that chick will learn not to make assumptions.

  4. Ms. Planner replied:

    I hate that people make assumptions that just because you get pregnant then everything is going to be sunshine and roses. So sorry that this happened to you.

  5. Artblog replied:

    Hmmm, quite!

    HUGS

  6. akeeyu replied:

    Ouch.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

