Lather, Rinse, Repeat Mantra

Dr. Google is a bastard. A BASTARD, I tell you.

Some doctors in his group say a beta of 25 is needed to confirm pregnancy; others say 10. Some say the “average” for 12 dpo is 50; others say only the rate of increase matters.

Here is what I am doing: trying not to think about it.

My new mantra:

I have no control over the ultimate outcome of this pregnancy.

This is happening at a cellular level and is not yet even visible to the naked eye.

I am doing absolutely everything I can do, which in the scheme of things is not much, to ensure a healthy pregnancy.

I had to test early, in order to know when to start the RPL (recurrent pregnancy loss) protocols. I was not a masochist on purpose.

I was actually getting hopeful, because I had a wave of nausea and increased boob soreness. Then I remembered that I am on progesterone. Rats.

I can’t take the HCG injections until after Wednesday (beta #2 is scheduled for 8:45AM), because, obviously, it will negate the beta. If the beta is good, I start the HCG injections (twice a week) and that will forever end my POAS obsession.

I have taken 12 pregnancy tests and several OPKs.

I am not doing a good job of not thinking about it, am I?

(MANTRA. Lather, rinse, REPEAT.)

October 29, 2007. Pregnancy #3.

7 Comments

  1. Liz replied:

    Every appendage that can be crossed is crossed for you.

  2. dolly replied:

    My everything is crossed for a good outcome for you. I think I just felt my ovaries cross too (not comfortable).

    I will hold you in my thoughts, and send energy your way.

    DoLlY

  3. kona replied:

    You are doing everything you can! I am hoping for the best for you! It’s so hard NOT to google while you are waiting.
    Here’s the Ovusoft thread on successful pregnancies with low betas:
    http://forums.ovusoft.com/tm.asp?m=2905489&p=1&tmode=6

  4. niobe replied:

    Uncertainity does suck. I’m hoping for a great beta tomorrow.

  5. K @ ourboxofrain replied:

    Uncertainty just sucks. You’ll be in my thoughts today. Rise, beta, rise!!

  6. Calliope replied:

    holy goodness! I am just now catching up with blogland.
    Wednesday just seems like forever away. ahhh!
    Will be thinking of you & hoping that you can keep it together until wednesday (& then, of course, will be hoping that wednesday’s news will propel you to euphoria)

  7. Ms. Planner replied:

    I like you mantra. And can appreciate how tough it must be for you to be simultaneously accepting that you have no control and doing all you can in your power to achieve a good outcome. For what it is worth, both by OB and RE use a beta of 5 to confirm a pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

