All Hallows’ Eve (Updated)

Many Evangelical Christians do not let their children celebrate Halloween because they believe that it is akin to Satanic worship.

You know why I don’t let my children celebrate Halloween?

BECAUSE I DON’T HAVE ANY CHILDREN.

51 12 minutes until I can call about beta #2.

Update:

The OPK I took this AM is very, very dark so I optimistically did my Lovenox and my HCG injections even before getting beta results back. Mixing the water and powder was the hardest part for the HCG; the shot itself was nothing. The nurse told me that they can recalibrate any future results (she was sure they would do another draw on Friday) because they know how much HCG I injected myself with. She was also not at all alarmed by my 15.5 level on Monday and reassured me that Dr. SBS is not concerned with absolutes, only the rate of change.

Update, Part II:

I called back at 11:03. Guess who is working today? THE EVIL, PAINFULLY SLOW LAB TECH. I am to call back at 11:30.

Update, Part III:

I HATE my RE’s lab. H.A.T.E. I know it is a strong word, but “dislike” is not nearly powerful enough. I called back at 11:30. They don’t have the results because THEY NOW HAVE TO RECALIBRATE THE MACHINE THAT DOES THE HCG TEST. THEY HAVE TO DO THIS NOW. IT MAY HAVE BEEN GIVING INNACURATE RESULTS. Yes, I am glad they caught it but FUCK did it have to be this week? Today? I have to call back at 2:00, which is right before I teach. I am going to take a shower and try for another several hours not to think about it.

Update, Part IV:

HCG: 60 (more than doubled since Monday — still looks low to me but it did quadruple if it was 15 two days ago, right?)Β  I am between 13-14dpo.

Progesterone: 25

Repeat beta on Friday.

Deep exhale for first time since Monday.

October 31, 2007. Other Links, Pregnancy #3.

15 Comments

  1. Rachel replied:

    Oh, why doesn’t your blog have an hour:minute timestamp? How am I gonna know when to check back? πŸ™‚

  2. kona replied:

    Quote, “BECAUSE I DON’T HAVE ANY CHILDREN.”

    That *might* be incorrect, MC. Be prepared to edit that statement. πŸ™‚

  3. babystep replied:

    OMG, what torture! Well, maybe your original beta was low b/c the stupid machine was broken. You will have a beta of 10,000 today! πŸ™‚

  4. Calliope replied:

    wooooooooooooo hooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!
    “more than doubled” is the best effin phrase ever.
    holy shit.
    Awesome news!
    xo

  5. kona replied:

    Woo Hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜‰

  6. leanne replied:

    Absolutely awesome!!!!!!! I’ll be hoping for even better news Friday πŸ™‚

  7. Ashley Bass replied:

    I calculated your doubling time at betabase.info (Not sure if you use this site or not but it is great to obsess over BETA numbers!) and it said doubling time was 24 hours. That is great! They like it to be within 24 – 72 hours! Also, on the betabas.info website, the beta numbers listed are of pregnancies that were viable only. You will see a drast difference in all the numbers. The most important thing, like your doc said, is that the numbers are doubling within the set time frame! I hope this helps and I am not just giving you info you allready had!

  8. Red replied:

    Great news, MC! πŸ™‚

  9. Aurelia replied:

    Good news! Now you just need to keep on shooting up. πŸ˜‰

  10. aspiring baker replied:

    I think this sounds great. You’re what, 13 days past ovulation? Those numbers don’t sound low if that’s where you are.

    I wish you a pregnant 33rd birthday!

  11. Rachel replied:

    Whoopee!

  12. Ms. Planner replied:

    Whew! So good to hear the news. I still don’t know what is a *good* beta or not. I just read a p-word book specifically written for *anxious* people and the doc who wrote the book stressed it is not the beta #, it is the rate of doubling that matters.

    Ugh, don’t even get me started on the Evangelicals. My mom teaches elem school in TX and they can’t even refer to Halloween anymore. It’s called Harvest Celebration.

  13. My Reality replied:

    That is a fantastic doubling time!!

  14. niobe replied:

    Yay for a more-than-doubling beta! But what’s up with the possibly inaccurate hcg machine? That is strange.

  15. Artblog replied:

    Blimey, lets hope the rest is uneventful! And ye, whats that about a screwed up hcg machine huh!!!

    X

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

