Adult Child of Crazy People

My mom called me at 9:00AM on the one day this week I can sleep in.

She is leaving my father. I am not sure that she has told him yet. I thought this would have happened when I was much, much younger, but she stayed for another 15+ years.

She does not know about this pregnancy, because the last two times she became more of a stress than a comfort. I elected not to tell her this time until I at least reach the second trimester.

She also wanted to know if she could move to the city where I live.

Usually, all this would really stress me out. Instead, I am actively letting it roll off of my back. I have bigger things to worry about right now. I also refuse to take sides.

Instead of worrying about the breakup of my parent’s thirty-five year marriage, I am trying to find the pee-stick I misplaced this morning so I can analyze it as part of The Plan. It sounds like avoidance; it is really compartmentalization.

November 16, 2007. Other Sucky Things.

6 Comments

  1. niobe replied:

    I think this absolutely does belong in the category of Other Sucky Things. Compartmentalization works for me. Plus avoidance and denial.

  2. Wendy replied:

    I am really sorry that your parents are breaking up. I can only hope that if your mother comes here to live, that she at least be decent to you. Helpful would even be nice. Sounds like your plan with the HPT’s are working and your symtoms sound good. I am waiting on edge for that US next week.
    Wendy

  3. Meg replied:

    Ugh…I am sorry you are dealing with this right now. I know you are not really letting it affect you but I am sure it has come up in your mind a lot today. I am sorry…it is never easy to hear that your parents are not doing well… Focusing on you and your little bean are important steps to take for your strength and sanity. Sounds like a great choice that you have not told them about your pregnancy. Keep us posted on how you are with all of this…..

  4. Anya replied:

    Wow — that’s pretty late in life to make such a huge decision! My mom always said she’d leave my Dad when we kids grew up but I’m the youngest and almost 30 and she still can’t tear herself away.

    Take care of you for now you hear.

    Oh, and Mom will be pleased to hear that you think she looks like a statue!

  5. artsweet replied:

    oh. holy. crap.

  6. Aurelia replied:

    Parents sigh….well at least you know what not to do your own kids someday, right?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

