The Magic Number of the Week: Eight

8 = number of months pregnant I am, as of last Thursday (32 weeks)

8 = number of weeks I have to go in this pregnancy, assuming he-beastie arrives on schedule

8 = number of minutes to took he-beastie to pass the “kick test” this morning (you eat, you wait 20 minutes, you lay down on your left side, and you count how long it takes to feel 10 fetal movements. For some babies it can take up to two hours; for most it takes less than one hour; for “active babies” it usually takes less than 15 minutes).

8 = number of pounds I have gained this pregnancy

Yup, 8 pounds. Granted, I lost a few pounds (like 3 or 4) during pukeapalooza that I gained back, but my net gain is still only 8 pounds and I did not gain any more weight in the past two weeks. I am pretty sure I could gain all sorts of weight if I could indulge in lots and lots of yummy, delicious, carbohydrate-y goodness, but it is really hard to gain weight eating salad, yogurt, and lean proteins. I am still fighting nausea, which seems to have picked up this trimester again. I am not vomiting, but I have to take the Zofran for severe nausea, especially when I get out of bed in the morning and again at night, and I still have the dry-heaves several times a day. I think this is what “normal” first-trimester morning sickness feels like? This phase, although the nausea never really went completely away, started up again at about 28 weeks.

I have another ultrasound scheduled on the 30th of May, just to assess he-beastie’s growth and make sure it is my body that is atypical. My fundus (which still sounds like a dirty word to me even though I know it just means “top of uterus”) is measuring right on track at 32mm (it should match the number of weeks you are) and my tummy is getting bigger, so everything is assumed to be fine. My mom will be here for the shower, so she can join us for the “let’s make sure everything is a-okay” ultrasound, which thrills her. Now, of course, I have started to worry that everything will not be a-okay, but there is nothing to indicate otherwise, so I am just trying not to focus on it.

He-beastie and I have agreed, however, that he is going to stay put at least until Friday, June 27th. That is the day of the final in the summer-school class I am teaching, and I have a small class, so I can get them graded right away. After that date, he can totally make the call as to when he would like to schedule D-day. I know it may sound crazy to teach in the summer instead of relaxing, but I find nothing relaxing about huge amounts of unstructured time, especially when hot and pregnant. The thought of staying home for the next few weeks really scares me (the horrible stuff one can read on Dr. Google and blogs these days!), and teaching will also force me to get up, shower, and walk to campus, at least Mondays through Thursdays. Oh, and I get paid, too, which will allow me to fix some stuff up around here before he arrives without really worrying about finances.

I have also started going to prenatal yoga (my first class was yesterday), and will continue to go twice a week until I deliver. It is hard to breathe and find my balance with he-beastie mulling around in there, but I just take it slowly. I wish I had started earlier, but I guess starting at 32 weeks is better than nothing, right?! I am also going to try and use my video once a day as my sciatic pain is much better after all of the stretching in only one yoga class. I am also hope that all the breathing exercises and the exercises to promote an “open pelvis” pay off come D-day.

I am bringing my Prenatal Yoga Pack (yoga flash cards) to read while I go and eat yet another salad for dinner. This time, however, I am going to Pizzeria Uno and getting a small pizza with my salad. As long as I watch the portion size, it is allowed. My stomach is so small these days that if I start eating the salad first, it will be a challenge to even eat one full piece.

May 18, 2008. Pregnancy #3, South Beached Whale.

4 Comments

  1. Farah replied:

    Yah to 32 weeks. I here you on willing the babies to stay in until a certain date . I also am not one to do well with idle time. I am hoping to get another 4/5 weeks out of work. It will help us financially and me emotionally.

    Sending you good thoughts for a great u/s on the 30th.

  2. babystep replied:

    I have gained 8 pounds in the last 8 months too. What’s my excuse?

  3. Kona replied:

    It is great to hear all the details in the home stretch!! đŸ˜‰ So exciting!!

  4. Megan replied:

    I totally understand the weight gain issue. My twins crowd my stomach and then I try to constantly fill what little room is left in there with the nutritious stuff I’ve been told to eat, and even now that the puking has mostly subsided, I can’t put on weight. I’m only 13.5 weeks along, but I’m down 3 or 4 pounds from where I started. The doctors don’t seem too worried about it; I think the twins are getting all the nutrients and calories and that is why I’m exhausted all the time (which is fine with me; I’d rather be worn-out all the time than have my guys get any less than what they need).

    Your little guy seems to be growing normally and is crazy active, so I bet your scan on 5/30 will show that everything is awesome.

    On the bright side, once he’s outta there you won’t have a bunch of baby weight to lose!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

