Ewww

I had stronger contractions all last night, but while they were actually moving into the painful realm, they were further apart (10 minutes) than the night before. I actually went to sleep in the nursery as I was afraid my quiet moaning would disturb Mr. MC’s sleep.

This morning as I was getting into the shower, much to my surprise, I noticed that I was spotting brown blood. At first I thought “mucous plug” or “bloody show,” but it really did look like regular old spotting. I called my OB’s office, just to be sure, and the nurse told me that they were just getting ready to call me. Here’s the ewww part: it turns out the bajingo culture they did last Friday was positive for e-coli. Yes, the e-coli that makes everyone sick and is usually found in your colon. Ewwwwwww. I felt like she was telling me that I was a dirty, unhygienic person, but it turns out that it is a pretty common for pregnant women to have asymptomatic e-coli bacterial vagninosis. Still. Ewww.

My midwife thought this is might be what was causing the spotting, so the nurse said if I continued to spot or actually started bleeding, to call back right away. They called in an antibiotic, which I will take for seven days, so hopefully it has time to kill all the nasty ookies in bajingo-ville before he-beastie’s arrival.

I cramped and spotted most of the day, so I went back in this afternoon for another exam. He-beastie is in the “right position,” my cervix is starting to thin, but there is not yet any dilation. Then we got another ultrasound (to rule out a placental abruption) which showed that everything is normal and — here’s a real shocker — my kid likes to move around a lot. I am also to discontinue use of the Lovenox and the baby aspirin one week early (I am 37 weeks tomorrow).

It was a long day and I didn’t get my usual 3-hour nap. Tomorrow, however, my son will be considered full-term. It ain’t over yet, but everything is looking good.

June 18, 2008. He-Beastie's Big Debut, Pregnancy #3.

10 Comments

  1. Sam replied:

    So you mean that it wasn’t caused by putting raw meat in your bajingo? Ewwwwww. I’m glad that they caught it so your lady bits can be pristine for delivery. Full term!! YAY!!!

  2. K @ ourboxofrain replied:

    That does sounds pretty unpleasant — I hope he-beastie holds off long enough to let the antibiotics do their job. And hooray for full term!!

  3. babystep replied:

    Yuck! I am glad everything is okay. I can’t believe you will be full term tomorrow! And I cannot believe you went and taught a class while you were having contractions! I think I would have just parked in the parking lot of the hospital and waited for something to happen!

  4. Liz replied:

    I’m willing to bet that pg women are more susceptible to e coli vaginosis because of the frequent checks at the OB’s.

  5. kona replied:

    So exciting!!! Any time now, MC. šŸ˜‰ I send lots of easy-labor wishes for you!!!

  6. Farah replied:

    Oh yes YUCK!

    Congrats on full term!

  7. Rachel replied:

    So far, so good! (except for the vaginosis, but at least it was asymptomatic!)

  8. niobe replied:

    You are so amazingly close. Honestly, your pregnancy seems to have absolutely flown by. (for me, anyway, though most likely not for you)

  9. Ms Planner replied:

    You are almost there sister! Congratulations. And bajingo. Tee hee. I forgot about that word.

  10. How Baby S Got Borned (Part One) « Missed Conceptions replied:

    […] The spotting, which was assumed to be due to the e-coli infection, was, with hindsight, indeed “bloody show.” I spotted for three more days, and then things seemed to taper off. On Saturday, June 21, I laid down to take a nap in the afternoon because I was exhausted from not sleeping well the night before due to contractions. I had been having contractions for days, but they were not organizing themselves into any sort of recognizable pattern and I had heard that these could go on for weeks. When I woke up from the nap, however, my underwear was wet, and I was pretty sure that I had not peed myself. I called my midwife and she told me to come into the hospital and they would determine if I was leaking amniotic fluid. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

