My Son Is Not a Boob Man

Baby S was born three weeks early — a “near-term baby” — and he had what the lactation consultant called an “immature sucking reflex.” He could not stay awake when latched on, and when he was latched on, he would only suck for a few minutes. He was not gaining weight because he was not getting enough to eat.

Enter the breast pump. All hail the breast pump.

He is gaining weight beautifully now and eats on a fairly regular schedule, even though we are still doing “on demand” feedings.

I thought we would do this for a few weeks and then he would just go right back to the boob. I have been trying to put him on the breast but he just fusses and only sucks for a few minutes before losing interest.

Does he have the dreaded “nipple confusion?”

Will he go back to the breast?

I had to introduce the bottle, but I fear that he is going to be on the bottle forever. All the cleaning, sterilizing, and pumping is very time consuming. I will still pump so Mr. MC can do a few feedings, but I was hoping to slowly whittle down the 8 times/day pumping to just a few.

Why is my son not a boob man?  I know this will hit later in life, but a fascination with my boobs now would just make everything a lot easier!

July 5, 2008. The Magnificent Baby S.

8 Comments

  1. MommaMary replied:

    I had a similar problem with my little guy. I ended up using a nipple shield. It helped with that a lot. After a few weeks, I was able to wean him from the nipple shield, and he nursed without issues! You can get them at target, and they aren’t too expensive. It’s worth a try?

  2. DD replied:

    Wait until he’s 6 1/2 and wearing your bras as that’s when mine finally turned into a “boob man”.

    Helpful, aren’t I?

  3. Farah replied:

    we are at a similiar spot! pumpong does get tiresome

  4. lizzie replied:

    My son did the same thing! The LC we worked with told me he liked the bottle better because it was less work than nursing. He didn’t even have to suck and he’d still get milk. He eventually did give up the bottle. What worked for us was LOTS and LOTS of skin to skin contact and encouraging comfort feeding. I also tried to nurse him while he was really sleepy. Rent some good movies, limit visitors, take the phone off the hook and spend a few days cuddled together in your bed. The rest and relaxation will help your supply and the constant contact will help get Baby S interested in nursing.

  5. Wendy replied:

    Don’t give up! If you want some help, I would be happy to come over to help. What I suspect is happening is that because he doesn’t have to work so hard to get milk from the bottle, he is mad that he has to work so hard to get it from your best. Can you pump to let down and then put him on so he doesn’t have to work so hard and then get the hang of it? Anyway, e-mail me and I would be happy to come over and check his latch and see if we can trouble shoot what’s going on. Our number is under Schmidt (my first name) in the phone book. Call me and I will shoot over to help if you want OK?
    Wendy

  6. Wendy replied:

    I just came back to suggest what Lizzie said…lots and lots of skin to skin contact. Stay in bed with him all day, nursing as much as you can while Mr. MC takes care of you. I suspect that after a couple of days of this, he’ll be on the breast for good. Again, call me and I am happy to help. The first 2 months are the hardest. I was ready to give up too and we made it to 27 months.
    wendy

  7. babystep replied:

    Obviously I have no advice for you on this…but I am STILL in awe that baby S is finally here!!!! You waited so long. Remember the “good ole” babycenter days? 🙂

  8. Liz replied:

    MM hated breast-feeding, because he wanted to face OUT. So I pumped for nine months.

    The first month or so I really really tried to get him to prefer getting it straight from the source, but no go. Once I stopped taking it personally and feeling like I’d failed, the pumping got easier and less burdensome.

    So…my advice is…if this is it, this is it. Don’t take it personally. Pump as long as you want. And all the bottles and washable pumping supplies and stuff can go in the dishwasher (choose high heat and heat drying)

    Get a bra that will allow you to pump hands-free (you may need to get an attachment kit. (warning! If you read while pumping, you may get let-down when reading for years!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

