I’m Just Sayin’

When I was a few weeks early and I thought that I was leaking amniotic fluid, my midwife said “go to the hospital immediately so that you can be evaluated.” My water broke a few hours later. Once your water breaks, she said, you need to deliver within 24 hours.

She did not say “get on a plane, fly 8 hours to Alaska, and take your sweet time getting to a hospital with a sub-par NICU.”

I’m not accusing anyone of anything; I’m just sayin’.

Edited to add: Here is a link regarding the soap opera story:  Newsminer.com

September 2, 2008. Ramblings.

10 Comments

  1. K @ ourboxofrain replied:

    And fly commercial, no less. The more germs you potentially expose your child to in utero, the better. And this advice is far more critical if your child has Downs, since they are clearly less susceptible to germs and less likely to need a NICU, no?

    Oh, and I thought it was more like 24 hours total, with two flights and a layover in Seattle.

  2. Calliope replied:

    heh. Been thinking the SAME thing…

  3. Ashley Bass replied:

    Ok, what did I miss?!

  4. Sam replied:

    I was thinking that flying that late in your pregnancy was a no-no in itself…but after your water breaks? LAME.

  5. farah replied:

    i can’t stop thinking about all of this situation

  6. Tina replied:

    What? I think she has excellent judgment and I am sleeping well knowing she’s just a heartbeat away from being president. *runs and hides*

  7. artsweet replied:

    I don’t even know what to say about this.

    Why didn’t he just go on Jenny Jones to pick his VP?

  8. Rachel replied:

    It boggles the mind, knowing how most airlines restrict pregnant fliers, how most providers will tell you the clock is ticking once the fluid appears, and that there was a real possibility of needing NICU care in the specific situation.

  9. Aurelia replied:

    hehe

    I hate her political positions, and I hate her. Glad to see you are on side!

  10. rita Mcwaters replied:

    amen sister!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

