Yep, MC is Going to Bitch About Yeast Again

I thought it was gone.  I am on my last day of Diflucan (oral medicine) and have religiously applied Monistat cream to my nipples for 7 days.  I pumped exclusively and carefully washed all the pump parts with hot, soapy water while Baby S dined from bottles with sterilized nipples.  My symptoms went away!  I was optimistic!  Then I started nursing again yesterday and, to quote the ever-annoying Emeril, BAM!, right back to the burning nipples today.

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck.

I blame the stupid NP at the pediatrician’s office two weeks ago who told me Baby S did not need to be treated if he was asymptomatic.  She was wrong.  I knew she was wrong, but she is an NP with years of clinical experience and I followed what she recommended, which was not to treat Baby S for yeast.  Did I mention I knew she was wrong?  My midwife said she was wrong.  The nurse I spoke to this morning said she was wrong.  I should have not been so complacent and insisted on medicine for Baby S, too.  (I just got a call back from the doctor: he says the NP was “not correct” about discontinuing the medication.  So I will not be charged for that visit, right?  She will be reprimanded?  Told not to be such a smug beeyotch next time?  Encouraged to research chronic yeast infections before opening her “I-Have-Years-of-Clinical-Experience-and-You-Don’t” mouth?)

Oh, and my hair is falling out.  I had, according to Mr. MC and my hairstylist, thick, shiny, gorgeous hair during my pregnancy.  At exactly 3 months post-partum, my hair started falling out.  I knew this was normal, so initially I was not alarmed.  Except that it kept on coming out.  Like a LOT.  Like ALL THE TIME.  It is really thin now, especially around my face.  I know my thyroid is okay, so here’s hoping the book is right and this resolves itself by 6 months, because I shudder to think how awful I would look bald.

Here is Baby S at 4.5 months, who somehow manages to make thin hair work.

October 20, 2008. Life With Baby, Other Sucky Things, The Magnificent Baby S.

7 Comments

  1. Ashley Bass replied:

    I had the hair issue too at exactly 3 months! It was weird just how it suddenly came on overnight. It would come out in my hands by the handfuls in the shower and during combing. I had to sweep my floor in my bathroom EVERYDAY because it looked like a werewolf was shedding. Anyway, the issue has resolved itself after a couple of weeks…and luckily I still have hair on my head!

  2. Farah replied:

    DAmmit .. You just can’t get that yeast to go away. I am so sorry. i hope that with treating baby s (who is fantastically adorable) the beeyotch will go away.

    Oh the hair thing ..Check. I seem to have that too.

  3. Sam replied:

    Your hair will fall out and out and out and you will freak the eff out and one day it will stop and then start to grow back in until you look like a human again. I’m sorry about The Yeast. Good job at keeping up with the breast feeding. And Baby S is so yummy looking.

  4. Caro replied:

    My hair’s falling out too – I have a nearly bald patch on each temple.

  5. Liz replied:

    So sorry about the yeast. But look at that face!

  6. lizzie replied:

    You will be surprised how fast you start feeling better once S is being treated too! I’m glad you finally got this sorted out. 🙂 Are you going to take Diflucan again too? The only way mine totally went away was when we were both treated at the same time.

    You’ll be so relieved when your hair stops falling out and then be annoyed all over again when it begins growing in. I looked like I had a terrible case of static electricity for months… all the new growth would stick straight up!!! A friend told me to spray an old toothbrush with hairspray and brush the top of your head with it. Totally works (but you look so silly!)

  7. Aurelia replied:

    Yes, treat him, but my latest thing for yeast, is grapefruit seed extract pills or drops. My pediatrician recommended it and it really does get rid of yeast. Doesn’t hurt to add it to the mix maybe?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

