Biting the Boob That Feeds You

The yeast is gone.

I don’t have mastitis.

My supply and Baby S’s demand are more or less in sync.

So, of course, something had to go wrong.

He has started biting.   Me.

In.  The.  Nipple.

When he was getting his first two teeth in, he did this at the end of our feedings when he was trying to soothe his gums.

A few days ago, he started doing it again and yesterday and today, he has started chomping down right at the beginning of our feedings.  I can not find any new teeth that appear to be breaking through.

I sternly say “NO” and end the feeding, as is suggested in my breastfeeding book.  He always looks surprised and then confused as to why I flinch in pain.  We wait a while and try again, with the same problem.  I have just started pumping and giving him the milk via bottle.

Please tell me this is a just a phase?  And it will end soon?  (It’s okay to lie to me.  Go ahead.  I will not care, I promise.)

It is a good thing he is so freakin’ cute.

3225937039_3bb62e70af2

February 19, 2009. Life With Baby, The Magnificent Baby S.

7 Comments

  1. Momma Mary replied:

    I would try to keep nursing him. He’ll get it. My little guy would bite occassionally, but I would make him wait until the next feeding (if I could stand it) if he bit.. That way he was hungry enough to eat rather than play? The “no” really should be STERN too. It’s not fun having to discipline an infant about biting. 🙂

  2. Farah replied:

    I tried to get MT ot stop biting wiothteh stern no. He must have been too young to get it or in too much teething pain to care. I am sorry. I switched to pumping when that happened (biting me) way too much. I wish you much better success than I had

  3. Farah replied:

    but good lord is he cute!

  4. Nicky replied:

    I’m having the same problem. One solution that I read: when he bites down, push your breast forward over his nose. Supposedly the sudden lack of air coming through his nose will be uncomfortable enough that he’ll try to avoid it in the future. (This solution didn’t actually work for us — it was too much of a reflex for me to pull away rather than push forward, and my son started to see it as too much of a game. But I’ll throw it out there in case it works better for you than it did for me.)

  5. Wendy replied:

    I also think you should keep trying to nurse him. The one thing that worked for me was when Katie bit me, was to push her face into my breast and sternly say NO! It took 2 times of doing this and she got the message.

  6. liz replied:

    Glory, glory, that boy has smiles for miles!

  7. Sam replied:

    We are done with thrush but having serious oversupply issues. Spraying! Screaming! Gulping! Screaming because there is an air bubble! Screaming because burping is horrible! Screaming because he is still hungry! All in Home Depot! How many months until the biting begins? I’d like to have a moment without any nursing issues. Please?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

