Frackity Frack

Baby S is 9 months, 2 weeks, and 6 days old.  (We have a ticker on his blog; I am not actually that anal retentive).

I am still breastfeeding and plan to continue until he is at least a year.

It is my gift to him.  As I mentioned before, the risk of developing colitis is cut by up to 75% if one is breastfed for 12 months.  We are only nursing 3-4 times a day, so it is really not so bad anymore in terms of time commitment.

Except for one thing: the weight gain.

When Baby S was born I weighted 181 lbs.  I got on the scale this week and weighed 209 lbs.  HOLY FRACK!

I was never hungry when I was pregnant but breastfeeding makes me hungry all the time.  I eat almost everything put in front of me, even my veggies.  It is an even more intense hunger that when I was on Prednisone (steroids for treating colitis) and my CNM told me just to listen to my body as it is determined to make high-quality breastmilk.  She also pointed out that I did not eat well at all while pregnant, so my body is just trying to replenish lost nutrients.

But almost 30 lbs of weight gain while breastfeeding?

I joined a gym this week because if the apetite is going to be like this, something else has got to change.  I had to go out again and buy more “fat” clothes.   I read somewhere — and I am too lazy to go find it again — that 22% of women gain more than 15 lbs. while breastfeeding.  I was never told this.  It would not stopped me from breastfeeding, but it would have made me feel like less of a freak.

April 11, 2009. Colitis is Fun (Not), Other Sucky Things, South Beached Whale.

5 Comments

  1. Farah replied:

    i just gained 15 lbs in 3 weeks myself …. I am not still bf- but I am still lactating. Does that count. Can that be my excuse?

    I am sorry

  2. K @ ourboxofrain replied:

    I gained 17 pounds between my 6 week follow-up (my post-baby low) and Harry turning 6 months (or just shy of it). So I feel your pain. I’ve lost about ten pounds since then but have been finding myself super-hungry again for the past week. It’s tough. And I can’t figure out how to fit exercise it. Doubly tough. I wish you the best of luck in getting some of the weight off.

  3. Nicky replied:

    I gained a bit while breast feeding, which I also hadn’t been expecting. Now that I’ve all but stopped (not by choice, but that’s another story) I’ve lost 6 pounds in one week. So, um, hang in there. It’ll likely come off after you do stop nursing. Trying to do it now might be more stress than it’s worth. I do admire you for trying, though! I was also constantly starving while I was breast feeding.

  4. Sam replied:

    I haven’t posted much about my weight because I am afraid that I will be thrown out of the Innernets. However, I have gained weight due to the breastfeeding starvation. NOM NOM all the time!!

  5. Caro replied:

    My weight has dropped since the feeding has got less frequent if that’s any consolation.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

