Another Example of When It is Not Good to Hear a Medical Professional Say “Wow”

Me to my CNM: “Uh, yeah, I was wondering if I could get a thyroid cascade done this week?”

CNM: “Are you symptomatic?”

Me: “Well, my carpal tunnel is acting up and I am tired, but I am mostly asking because I just got on the scale and I have gained almost 30 lbs. while breastfeeding.”

CNM: “Wow. . . .  Yes, I will have the orders ready for you at the lab tomorrow morning.”

April 13, 2009. Life With Baby, Other Sucky Things, South Beached Whale.

2 Comments

  1. Rachel replied:

    Did you get your thyroid tests back? Hoping they were normal! I just did my most recent thyroid ultrasound and labs a few weeks ago.

  2. missedconceptions replied:

    Yes, the thyroid cascade was normal. I asked what my TSH was the lab report just said it was “within normal limits.” Clearly, they don’t understand my need-to-know-specifics personality.

    I guess all the weight gain is due to the fact that I make super-high quality breast milk? That seems like more than a fair-trade off, though.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

