Attack of the Killer Bewbies!!

My bewbies, apparently, are evil.  E.V.I.L.

Baby S decided yesterday that he was done with them.  It is really warm here, so I just assumed it was the heat and maybe the closeness of nursing was annoying (even though we hold him in our arms when we give him a bottle, too).  I would lift up my shirt to nurse and he would turn his head and close his mouth, but I thought maybe when it cooled off, he would be more willing.  So, I pumped and he happily drank from a bottle.

This morning when I went in to nurse him, he took one look at my bewbie and started screaming.  I had no idea what was wrong.   I thought maybe I smelled bad or I had gotten something on me, so I gave up, pumped, and then took a shower and tried again.  Same reaction.  We did not have a biting incident or anything traumatic; my bewbies are just suddenly terrifying.

This afternoon, post-shower and in a perfectly cool room, I again tried to nurse him but he again turned his head to the side and clamped his mouth shut.  He will happily snuggle with me while he sucks his thumb and he will also happily take a bottle of breastmilk, so this is either the famed “nursing strike” or he just self-weaned.

If this is it, or was it, I will still pump for another few months to ensure he is still getting breastmilk.  It is easier to just nurse, but if I must pump, I must pump.

I have two conflicting emotions: one, my feelings are very hurt that my bewbies are suddenly so offensive; second, I am relieved that I don’t have to initiate the weaning process.

I will try again in a few days, just to see if it really is a “nursing strike,” but my gut tells me that our nursing days are over.

April 27, 2009. Life With Baby, The Magnificent Baby S.

5 Comments

  1. Iris replied:

    My little brother weaned himself suddenly, too, though his version included warning nips at the air with his teeth.

  2. Farah replied:

    Thinking of your bewbies and your feelings

  3. K @ ourboxofrain replied:

    I hope it proves to be just a strike. If not, I hope the bewbies don’t take it too personally. And I hope you find more contentment in the latter noted conflicted emotion than sadness in the former.

  4. Jensational replied:

    Hope it’s a weird temporary phase. My little guy did the same thing at about 6 months but I just gave up at that point because I HATE pumping. No one can really understand the weird rejection feeling until you get there. Best of luck!

  5. Nicky replied:

    This sounds like a textbook nursing strike. I could have written this post myself ~6 weeks ago. Except that I was 95% hurt, only maybe 5% relieved. Sounds like you’re in a much healthier place than I was. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

