Poop

I am 22 weeks and still nauseated and still getting migraines.  Not all that exciting, actually.  Nauseated is now my “default” setting.

Within the past week or so, however, I have been hit by awful diarrhea.  I had the opposite problem previously due to the narcotic pain killers, so this was a complete surprise.  My mom and Mr. MC also had the runs, so we just assumed it was something that we all ate.  Theirs went away; mine did not.

I think my colitis might be flaring.  Last time, pregnancy threw me into complete remission.  It did this time to, at least for the first half.  I am going through my usual rationales: “it’s something I ate;” “perhaps it’s just a bug;” or “I have been really stressed lately.”  I am giving it another week and then I am going to have to call my gastroenterologist.

I already take two antidepressants, baby aspirin, thyroid medicine and Lovenox shots, so this is far from an “au naturale” pregnancy.  I just hate to add two more meds (that are class B and “safe”) to my routine.

Oddly enough, with my bowels so, er, active, she-beastie is following suit.  She moves a lot and I have slowly been able to ween myself off of the doppler.   We are also slowly staring to prepare for the arrival, even though it is still months away.

March 23, 2010. Colitis is Fun (Not), Pregnancy #4.

4 Comments

  1. Caro replied:

    Sorry about the continuing symptoms, geat news about the wriggling she-beastie though.

  2. Sam replied:

    I feel you, ass issues are a misery. And adding any meds to a pregnancy can feel like a defeat. Hang in there!

  3. Suzie replied:

    This was my first visit to your blog! I am 9 weeks pregnant and I have found myself at a “advanced maternal age” also.(42) I haven’t told anyone about my pregnancy with exception of a few key people. I’m so afraid I am going to miscarry.

    Congratulations on your new baby!

    Suzie

  4. ms planner replied:

    I am glad to hear she is wriggling about – the most reassuring part of pregnancy. But, gosh, am so sorry to hear about all the extra issues. No fun! I completely know what you mean about throwing the concept of an au naturel pregnancy into the wind!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

