Why, Yes, I Would Like Some Cheese with My Whine

I was sick this weekend.  It started off as a cold and progressed into bronchitis.

The bronchitis made me cough like crazy, which made me a) pee my pants and b) puke, a lot.  Then, my entire GI system got mad at me and staged a coup.

You can’t take cough suppressants while pregnant but you can take plain old Robitussin, an expectorant.  It helped but did nothing to stop the a) peeing of the pants and 2) puking.  Yes, it was awful.

I could not get out of bed for three days.  Mr. MC had to take off work to take care of S.

I lost 5 pounds in 4 days.

This was supposed to be the week where I started “eating well” (ha!) as I have my glucose test on Friday.  I still find most food repugnant and have virtually no appetite.  When I do eat, a tiny bit fills me up.  Then I go back to being nauseated.

And I think I am getting a migraine.

The good news: coughing and puking must sound awesome from the inside because I was always treated with a burst of activity from she-beastie.

Maximum weight while breastfeeding: 217 (ugh)

Weight at beginning of pregnancy: 210ish?

Weight last week (26 weeks): 198

Weight last night (27 weeks): 193

This is the most effective diet I have ever been on.

April 26, 2010. Pregnancy #4.

3 Comments

  1. Sam replied:

    I got a head cold last week, and realized that wearing a pantiliner was madatory when I peed in my last clean pair of panties. I learned through Dr. Google that Vicodin is awesome at cough suppression. Vicodin is also the most common painkiller prescribed to nursing mothers and not awful for preggos. Just a thought. I’m sorry you’re feeling so shitty. I read a post last night about Hyperemesis Gravidarum @ http://womanuncensored.blogspot.com/2010/01/living-dead-girl-surviving-hg.html. Ugh. I cannot imagine feeling that bad.

  2. missedconceptions replied:

    Oh that poor, poor woman! I do have HEG but I do not have it that badly. At the most I was ralphing 3 times a day — 15-20? S would be an only child.

    I took Vicodin (script from my OB) about an hour ago for my migraine and, miraculously(!!), the coughing has stopped, too. Who knew?

  3. Caro replied:

    Oh I can sympathise with the coughing and peeing thing. I’ve had a shitty cough for a week and keep peeing myself too.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

