Little Pricks

My midwife thinks I am “crazy” but she agreed to let me do blood sugar monitoring for a few weeks instead of the 3-hour glucose test.  “You know, MC, you are the only person who has ever requested this.”  I would so rather test for the rest of my pregnancy than do that horrible test.  I only need to test 2 times a day (one fasting; one postprandial), twice a week for two weeks to see how my numbers look.  If they are okay, I just stay on the ADA diet.  If they are not okay, I start to test more frequently.

My mom gave me my dad’s old glucometer.  Last year, this would have really upset me.  This year, I am too spent to invest any emotional energy in being upset about it.  I need to buy new test strips tomorrow.

In a strange twist, the steroids I have been put on for the colitis have nearly eradicated my nausea.  I can eat!  I can keep down prenatal vitamin!  I actually have energy!  It is awesome, actually.  Too bad I am on a 4-week taper because eventually I expect all this to go away, but for now it is such a nice change of pace.  I can also eat vegetables and tolerate dairy (with my Lactaid) so I am hoping she-beastie is storing up all these nutrients.   I even gained a whopping pound!

I am at week 31 as of tomorrow.  I regularly have about 30 minutes of Braxton-Hicks contractions when I lay down at night, which are just tightening at this point and not even painful.  My sciatica is starting to act up again, so I am wary of walking long distances.  It is actually a good thing I am not in Europe with my students.

We are starting to really work on the nursery.  I have three major projects before she-beasties arrival: 1) downstairs:  oversee building of a first-floor laundry room/new flooring; 2) nursery: paint/clean/furnish/stock; 3) research: finish article/send out book proposal/write book review.  I have a babysitter for 4 hours twice a week for S, my mom will take him another afternoon, and he goes to his play-care (2 hours at a day-care providers house, mainly for socialization), so I hope I have time to get all this done.  Unlike last time, I know that I will get nothing done once she-beastie arrives, so here’s to a few super-productive weeks.

May 24, 2010. Colitis is Fun (Not), Pregnancy #4.

3 Comments

  1. K@ourboxofrain replied:

    All I can say is that it’s amazing what one can accomplish in 9 weeks when the deadline is real. Good luck.

    I’m glad you’re able to eat again, even if the relief is only temporary — you’ll need the energy to get everything done!

  2. msplanner replied:

    I am SO HAPPY for you that you can eat again! How wonderful. Wishing you the best of luck on your to-do list. Sounds like you are nesting…

  3. The Preconceptionist replied:

    Wow, that’s a lot to tackle! Any special plans in mind for the nursery?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

