The Down Side

Hyperemesis is a bitch.  I had it with both pregnancies but with S it nearly went away after week 17.  This time,  I was still barfing the week before I gave birth, usually in the morning as soon as I woke up.  The first 20-odd weeks, though, I puked any time of day, set off by a smell, motion, hunger, or eating (sometimes just thinking about eating) the wrong food.

I started this pregnancy at 210ish lbs.  When I gave birth, I was 198 but most of the pregnancy I was in the low 190s because of all the vomiting and lack of appetite.

Today I am 188lbs.  I went in to get my staples out and I couldn’t believe it when I looked at the scale at my OBs office.  Is this the upside of hyperemesis?  (Technically, I guess it is the downside?)  I got pregnant and lost a little over 20 lbs.  Go figure.  This is exactly the weight I was when I got pregnant with S back in 2007.

On the up  side (up?  get it?), all the vomiting ruined my teeth.  The stomach acid is really damaging to tooth enamel and I will begin the dental repairs in August.  The dentist hopes she can do just a filling instead of a crown on one of my molars where the stomach acid ate through things.

July 6, 2010. Pregnancy #3, Pregnancy #4, South Beached Whale.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

